Posted by: daveed | September 23, 2008

There can be only one

As I wrote about in an earlier post, Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey is my all-time.

What’s yours?

Give yourself that “what’s the one DVD I would take with me on a desert island” test. Or “the last film I would see before I die” hypothetical. No best-of in different categories. And no lists. If you feel like sharing why a particular film is your fave, that would be awesome. Not necessary, though. (However, I might ask.)

Responses

  1. Ah, count me a fellow Kubrick fan and “2001” is sublime. I’ve posted re: my fave films on my site–lists like that always seem to provoke a lot of comment and debate.

    Have a great week, mate…

  2. Thats tough.A few years ago I probably woulda seen Star Wars but after 50 plus viewings I could probably just watch it in my head.

  3. The Graduate

  4. Fellowship of the Ring (shorter theatrical cut only). I can easily do without the rest of the series. The first one by itself is a perfect parable of the main character’s journey from wastrel to martyr. The pacing of the theatrical cut is razor sharp. There’s not a frame of the film I wouldn’t hang on my wall. It’s the only film I’ve seen since I was a little kid that takes me completely out of my own head.

  5. Brian, what makes The Graduate your fave?

  6. Fight Club, although if I was going to a desert island it would be Rescue Dawn

  7. I’m all about my LOTR as well, especially the first installment.

    Though the last film I would see before I die would most definitely be Pan’s Labyrinth.

  8. It’s really more the history and memories that I have with the Graduate than the film itself (though I still love it). It was one of my first favorite movies geared for adults, and I remember watching it with one of my first semi-serious girlfriends.

    I was still in HS at the time, but I remember connecting with Benjamin’s mindset. He’d just graduated college and, after being paraded in front of his parents’ friends as a “superstar”, was expected to find a respectable job. His affair was his rebellion against those expectations.

    I loved how Nichols portrayed adults in the movie. He showed them as hypocritical, complex, neurotic, shallow, self-consumed, materialistic — yet somehow never turned them into the flat, cartoonish characters from, say, Ferris Bueller.

    The editing in that movie was beautiful in and of itself. I love the dreamy sequence that alternates between Ben paddling around his pool and meeting up with Mrs. Robinson. The final cut where he jumps up on a raft in the pool and ends up on Mrs. Robinson is perfect.

    And the ending of the movie is so great. The scene in the church, using the cross as a weapon, escaping to that bus — and then, with everything achieved they sit down and smile. But as the bus pulls away, we get a quick shot of Ben’s smile fading as they face a totally uncertain future.

    Then there’s the music, the car, the fashions and the women. Ann Bancroft and Katherine Ross — aye caramba.

    All that and Norman Fell?

    Yeah, The Graduate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

