Posted by: daveed | April 6, 2010

Steelydanitallica

Yep, this is pretty much what I think of these assholes, with the exception of Kirk Hammett and the bass player:

Enough has been said about how Metallica sold out, collaborated with the Enemy (the RIAA), blah blah. I gave up on their music after …And Justice for All. The “Black Album” was pointless, and I never forgave them for their flirtation with late-90s hipsterism that culminated in the atrocious “Whisky in the Jar”.

But he breaking point came when I saw their docu-therapy session Some Kind of Monster. I prefer my thrash metal mythology to remain inviolate thank you, and didn’t need to see Lars and James take turns as whiny drama queens. I want my rock gods to be trashing hotel rooms, snorting the ashes of dead groupies, waving guns at holiday shoppers, not in thrall to some creepy Svengali therapist.

At the end of it, I just didn’t care what happened to this band. As I told a friend of mine, it’s like learning how sausages are made. I’d rather not know.

Responses

  1. Wow, I thought that clip was a spoof. I can’t believe they stooped this low!

  2. this was great!

    *I feel the same way you do. It’s a shame as they use to be my fav. band.

    Peep this:

    http://demolishmag.wordpress.com/category/metallica-cancels-concert-tour-date/

    this details when they canceled their gig here in Indiana in 1986!

    Rock on!

    Curt King
    Demolish Fanzine
    Chicago HQ

  3. I think it was pretty damn cool. Lighten up!!

  4. If your comment is directed at me, yes it is a damn cool mash-up. Hilarious, actually. More fun than listening to the real track, IMO.

  5. I agree with Jeff! But, I think the crowd was stunned….

  6. Please tell me you don’t think this was real…

  7. I think some of them do! 😉

    ha ha!

    *Cool jazz riffs in there. Who did the mash up again?

    Rock on!

    Curt King
    Demolish
    Chicago HQ

  8. I’m pretty sure Calvin (whom I know personally) is jest funnin’.

    According to the YouTube page, some guy named Andy Rehfeldt did this. And apparently played all the instruments himself. Well done!

    And I totally dug your Metallica article. Thanks for sharing that.

  9. I noticed it being a little off…..I don’t think it was real.

  10. thanks for the props on the METALLICA article.

    yeah, I spent quite a bit of time on that one.

    Show some love in the “comments” field if you don’t mind?!

    Rock on!

    Curt King
    Demolish Mag.

  11. this is going on my ipod.


Leave a Reply

Categories

